Yuk. Eew. Gross.

P1

I went into a patients house last night and almost puked. There was a STRONG, vile, gross smell of pet (dog, cat, bird... I'm not an expert) urine. Which leads me to the question:

Has anyone puked or fainted on an emergency? What really grosses you out?

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Beegers

Not yet. Came REALLY close many times. As well as in the hospital. The patient had a FULL colostomy bag that needed changing...Smell was so bad that my partner and I just couldn't go into the room. My partner said it really was that bad as he has is usually the one who can handle ANYTHING.

We were transporting a critcal care from the hospital to a long term acute care facility. We had our company nurse and a respiratory therapist from the hospital. They had me sit up front during the transport because it was just too tight in the back (2 big guys and equipment). The patient took a nasty shit during the trip. I was sooooo happy to be up front. It was so bad that the nurse and therapist took turns sticking their head up front for fresh air.

:oops: Ummm....yeah....I have. I ended up with someone's spaghetti-laced vomit in my HAIR, as well as other lost bodily functions surrounding me in the middle of a NASTY code. :roll:

Literally....turned to the side...threw up in the trash can about 3 times, :pukeleft: wiped the mouth on the sleeve, and continued with compressions. :dontknow:

Whadd'ya gonna do? It's part of the job.

I also had someone in ER with a HORRIBLE anal abscess that had to be drained. I've never seen anything quite so gross...or smell quite so bad. (It was worse than an GI bleed, as far as I'm concerned.) :shock: I puked on that one too....but made it to the bathroom in private. lol.

On that note......YIPPEE!!!!!!!...........I can't wait to go to work! lmao