Hi from North Carolina!

CaveyTheEMT

Hi everyone! my name is Jocelyn and I am a fairly new volunteer EMT out of North Carolina. I look forward to meeting everyone and hopefully learn a thing here and there!

Let me bother you guys with a question! is there any tactical or flight medics on here? it'd be my dream career to do one of the two.

Hi everyone! my name is Jocelyn and I am a fairly new volunteer EMT out of North Carolina. I look forward to meeting everyone and hopefully learn a thing here and there!

Let me bother you guys with a question! is there any tactical or flight medics on here? it'd be my dream career to do one of the two.

There are a smattering of Tactical medics and a couple more flight medics.

You will have a much harder time becoming a tactical medic without the law enforcement background but it can be done, not saying very difficult, just saying, hard.

Flight medic is really just getting your medic, getting street experience and then getting in at a flight service at the right time when they have an opening. I have found that the flight services in my area(and several other ground services) operate under what I call "who you know" and if you don't know the right people there's no way in hell you are going to get a job with any of those services.

But the jobs are out there but you also have to understand that flight medicine is quickly becoming the Alaska Fisherman of EMS in danger factor.

Keep your dreams alive my lady, don't let them die. You can do it but it is going to take some hard work on your end.

Edited by Captain ToHellWithItAll

Welcome.

I have flown in the past. I'll say for now, as a new EMT, focus on becoming a good EMT. Better yet, focus on getting into paramedic school and becoming a good paramedic.