Studying in California

EMTstudent7

Hello,

I am a student in California. Currently I am taking a work experience class. Through a series of career aptitude and personality tests, EMT is one of my prospective career matches. I am hoping that someone will be able to help me with an informational interview regarding being an EMT. I may be interested in enrolling in an EMT course next semester. Please help.

1. What sort of education do you have?

2. What was your career path from college to present? Why did you
decide to follow this career path?

3. What are your basic duties performed during a typical day? Week?
Month? Do you have a set routine? What are the major job responsibilities?

4. How much variety is there on a day-to-day basis?

5. How many hours do you work?

6. Does the typical EMT have a set schedule or are the hours
flexible?

7. Which skills do you feel are most important to acquire?

8. What types of technology are used and how are they used? How
often are changes made when it comes to new technologies?

9. What educational program do you recommend as preparation? What
kinds of courses are most valuable in order to gain skills necessary for
success in this occupation?

10. What degree or certificate do employers look for? What kind of work/internship
experience would employers look for in a job applicant?

11. How can a person obtain this work experience?

12. What entry level positions are there?

13. What steps besides meeting educational and experiential requirements are necessary
to "break into" this occupation?

14. What are opportunities for advancement? To what position? Is an advanced degree

needed? (If so, in what discipline?)

15. Is there a typical chain of command in the field?

16. What are the different salary ranges?

17. What other kinds of workers frequently interact with this position?

18. What are the main or most important personal characteristics for success in the
field?

19. What are the satisfying aspects of your work?