Stubborn Discomfort

Jaymazing

Bare with me, this is my first time presenting a scenario on EMTCity. I will begin the presentation with a brief summary of chief complaint, dispatch info, and on-arrival info. Everything else, just ask and I'll provide (to the best of my ability).

You are working for a rural service, about 90 minutes away from the city, with one ALS ambulance and one BLS ambulance.

It's 10:45 AM on a moderately warm spring day, and you're called to a rural address about 20 minutes away for a 54 year old male complaining of "Chest discomfort". Due to response time and location, the local fire dept is called for first response, and upon your arrival you find a well-kept home amidst a quiet farming community. First responders are on scene already, and several of them are standing around and waiting for the all-clear to go home.

Your patient is a middle-aged man, sitting on a step in his garage. His wife and a fire-fighter are standing around him. He appears pale and diaphoretic, but is in no obvious distress. Upon seeing you, he sighs deeply and drops his head down; the wife tells you that she's the one who called, and her husband is does not want to go to the hospital.

You introduce yourself, and find out that your patient was working around the yard when he developed some moderate chest discomfort. He had to come inside and sit down, at which point his wife noticed that he appeared "off", so she called 9-1-1. He can't describe the discomfort, he just gestures in a circular manner around his mid-chest.

"I'm not going anywhere," he says when he see's one of the fire-fighters wheeling over your stretcher.

You take it from here.

Has he ever had pain like this before?

Does the pain go anywhere apart from in his chest?

What type of pain is it? sharp? stabbing? cramping?

How bad is the pain?

Does anything make the pain better or worse?

What is his past medical history like?

Does he have any family history of heart disease?

When did he last eat?