New Partner.

eCamp91

I've won a shift bid on a ALS car (I'm a EMT) my partner is obliviously a Paramedic. Haven't worked with him yet but his last two partners say the same.

How would I handling a partner who doesn't like to follow protocol, belittles you in front of patients/family, likes to hold over time on a call for no obvious reason besides being lazy.

I know I have to form my own opinion but I have been around this guy a few times to know that he thinks his sh!t doesn't stink.

The questions would seem to be why did you bid that shift knowing you would end up with him?

Since you have yet to work with him, how do you know what he does or doesn't do in regards to following protocol?

Stop listening to the shithouse gossip mill and form your own opinion once you spend some shifts working with him.

I have had the same partners, and I actually still know one that used to be my partner. You just need to block out his crap and realize you have a job to do and it's not really to worry about him. I would say if he's not following protocol stand up and do the correct thing, make him stop whatever he was doing ( really all depending on what was happening, can't say that will always work ) but when you know something wrong and you know you can fix it, do it.

That's why my old partner that I used to work with is still I suppose you could say "further down the ladder" and I am "higher up" than he currently is.

For instance if he has a patient with chest pain he won't put them on a monitor if his truck was less than 3 minutes out from the hospital. Just don't want his actions to make me look bad but if he looks bad I look bad by us being partners.

He has the attitude, "I'm the Medic on the truck! Do as I say.."

Island, I didn't until my bid was already in. I had a different shift in the bag before this one but his ex-partner before me wanted out and trumped me for that shift so I threw my bid in blindly. Eh, ALS Ill get experience with a lot more rescue.