First Paramedic Student

Bieber

So, my partner and I are getting a paramedic student tomorrow and will be serving as his preceptors throughout his internship (~3-4 months). It's crazy to think that I will be teaching a paramedic student, and even crazier to think that I was a student myself not so long ago back in 2010.

So, any advice? Tips? Recommendations? Lessons you've learned along the way?

Edited by Bieber

Remember that precepting is about creating a strong spirit, and you can't do that with fear.

Make him/her get ALL of his/her own second/third IVs on every non time critical patient, right from the beginning. It will help them to plan their first stick better as well as teach that despite it sucking ass that you have to poke your patient a second or third time that they still need to keep moving forward, especially when things suck ass.

Don't give too much information all at once. If they're uncomfortable with IV sticks, don't have them answer questions about the appropriate drug dosage, or drip rates while they're doing it. Let them get comfortable with one thing, then add pressure to that, then add content without pressure to it, then pressure to the skill plus the new content. Always try and teach/proof newer skills under conditions that allow for the highest predictability for success, then push.

Make sure that s/he understands that you can't do EMS without making mistakes and that honest mistakes have amazing power and value, but any dishonesty, on anything, is a 'no warnings' trip off of your truck.

And, I believe the most important, is that you can't teach without laughter.

Other than that, make him/her just like you and all should be well.

• Like 2

I had an amazing preceptor. I learned the most from this guy.

What I learned from him was that what I did had consequences and to think through those consequences prior to doing what I was going to do. Forward thinking outside the box thinking made me a stronger medic.