CA EMT-B does stand-by

joey c.

Hi all,

I am an EMT-B in CA and enjoy working in a stand-by capacity. I only do BLS/first aid tasks, and call ALS when needed. I am subcontracted by a company that provides my equipment. I provide my own insurance. I keep a pt. log and fill out PCRs. I am certified in CA and by the National Registry. I can pick and choose my schedule. It's great! What exactly is the concern about independant stand-bys?

There is a concern? It seems to me that you are stating your own case and then trying to raise an argument against it.

Would you like for me to try and find an objection to independent stand by?

I don't quite understand what your point is? Advertising perhaps?

Edited by DFIB

Why are you subcontracted? Why don't you work directly for the company? You have to keep a pt log and provide your own insurance. Do you get to charge fees?

I guess I am spoiled, I am a vollie, and I have ALS within the agency. Insurance, paperwork, and equipment all provided. The patient remans my main focus.

Why are you subcontracted? Why don't you work directly for the company? You have to keep a pt log and provide your own insurance. Do you get to charge fees?

I guess I am spoiled, I am a vollie, and I have ALS within the agency. Insurance, paperwork, and equipment all provided. The patient remans my main focus.

I envy you. I vollie and get none of those things except for some immobilization equipment, some O2 equipment, and of course the ambulance.

There is a concern? It seems to me that you are stating your own case and then trying to raise an argument against it.

Would you like for me to try and find an objection to independent stand by?

I don't quite understand what your point is? Advertising perhaps?

It seems like there have been several threads lately thrashing those that want to do independent standbys...I don't know of course, but my guess would be that that is where he is coming from...