Be Careful Out There: Paramedic Traumatic Stress Recovery

Hi EMT City Members

I'm an Advanced Care Paramedic and the EMS Coordinator of York Region's Critical Incident Stress Management Team, in Ontario, Canada.

EMT/ Paramedics are a vulnerable population to the effects of traumatic stress

I would like to share three short films I have created and recently posted on Youtube that concerns the EMT/ Paramedic Profession.

Go to Youtube and type in: Conversdoc channel

Click on: Conversdoc's Channel selection

1- Behind the Mask: Paramedic Occupational Traumatic Stress

2- The Trauma of Loss

3- Person-Based Ethics: Human Maps

If you find value in these films, could you could distribute them to EMT/ Paramedic Students and Colleagues.

(I have no commercial interest in them)

The response to these films thus far from around the world is remarkable. Paramedics from far and wide agree that these films capture their experience.

In the months to come I will be creating more material on how to build professional resilience in the aftermath of a traumatic event. Please check back on my Youtube Channel: Conversdoc Channel. Embedded in my Youtube channel is my Facebook link.

Together lets enable ourselves and assist our peers to grow resilience, and at the same time improve patient safety and outcomes.

Thanks for your time

David Whitley RN,ACP,BA,BScN

So what kind of actual counseling or psychological education, not training, do you have to be undertaking such an endeavour? You're in a unique position with this to cause more harm than help.

Did you see the videos he posted? They are simply about awareness and are not in any way trying to diagnose or treat any illness.

Yeah. I watched the videos. I'm not impressed. Nor am I really sure what the point is. Therapy for the OP? I'm not sure how they would raise awareness for anything. Nor do I think that it "captures my experience". (What? Like that surprises you?)