Re-introduction

EMSchick411

Hello again...

I have been a stranger to this site since July and never really became an active member, but I would like to change that! I am a certified EMT-B but have yet to start working in the medical field. Against all logical advice, I have decided to push forward and continue with paramedic training despite my lack of experience. I am about a quarter of the way through and I admit it has been a huge challenge as well as a struggle at times, most likely because I have chosen to take the course solely online. I am fighting the odds here, but I am determined to become an excellent paramedic, however long it may take. Thank you in advance to all who are reading this and who may be willing to guide me along my journey.

Here to stay,

Tamara

• Like 1

Yes, it exists. It is through a website called Trainingdivision.com. 80% of the course is done online at your own pace, and at the end of each semester, students are required to attend a 7 day hands-on skills class at the training center in Crowley, TX. After passing all the exams, we are then required to do the same amount of clinical rotations as any other program. Same books, same information, I am just presented with more of a challenge because I am basically teaching myself. This is a national program and students from all over the country travel to TX to complete the hands-on portion. I am fortunate enough to live only a few miles from the training center and can visit the instructors frequently when questions arise. I completely understand this being a questionable concept, but I can assure anyone with doubts that anyone who does not clearly comprehend the course work will not succeed. It is very difficult, but to be blunt, the program is designed to assure that no half-ass medics come out of it.