Canadian EMT (new to site)

J306

Hello everybody,

My name is Jack I'm a primary care paramedic in Saskatchewan. After graduation I got a job in a northern reservation community where I got many good trauma, obstetrical, and medical calls. I have now moved to a rural community in the southern part of the province where I plan to gain more experience and knowledge before returning to school to get my ACP training.

I recently got my First Aid/CPR Instructor designation and will teaching my first class in the next couple weeks!

Welcome Stubble Jumper !

ps go directly to SIAST .. you do not need PCP experience to become an ACP.

Edited by tniuqs

You do need to be a PCP for a year to go to ACP School.

1) Yes one year is required by the school, but that is the ONLY reason to wait.

2) Consider your future, if you are thinking of working between provinces consider a different program

3) Consider your career, if you are thinking any CCT work may be in your future, consider a different program.

I have about a year and a half experience, attended over 200 calls last year and have applied for the ACP program at SIAST and now just waiting to hear back from them. In Saskatchewan we have a very limited scope of practice as PCP's which is why I wanted to advance my training ASAP!

1) Yes one year is required by the school, but that is the ONLY reason to wait.

2) Consider your future, if you are thinking of working between provinces consider a different program

3) Consider your career, if you are thinking any CCT work may be in your future, consider a different program.

I have actually put a lot of thought into working in either Ontario or Alberta out once I'm finished the program... Considered applying for the ACP program out of Medicine Hat college then doing my Bachelor of Applied Science-Paramedic right after..Saskatchewan just recently got STARS in Saskatoon, so I foresee a CCT/CCP program will soon be offered..So many options, so little time!