Guidance on how to get started.

Blackbelt10

Hello to all, as you may can tell, I'm relatively new to the site and I come in peace looking for insight.

Currently I am a college freshman who planned on enrolling into the nursing program in a year or two. I have come to the realization that college may not be for me, at least going the nursing route. Since growing up I always wanted to be in the medical field. I have probably looked at over 300+ Youtube videos of on the job paramedic videos, saying to myself I wish that was me.

So my question for you is, how should I go about starting off? Are college credits needed for EMT-B?

Any suggestions, ideas, and opinions are greatly appreciated.

EDIT: Thanks for the response, I'm from Alabama and currently living in a college town with a non-volunteer service, but my hometown is volunteer only. I am just confused on the training process.

Edited by Blackbelt10

Welcome to the City Blackbelt!

Where are you located? I ask because depending on where you are, the answer to your college credits question is, yes. Here in the staes most EMT basic courses do not require college credits. They are sometimes sponsered by a local fire department and time of classes is highly varied, from several weeks to several months.

Jump right in and ask questions and we will do our best to answer them for you. :)

Currently I am a college freshman who planned on enrolling into the nursing program in a year or two. I have come to the realization that college may not be for me, at least going the nursing route. Since growing up I always wanted to be in the medical field. I have probably looked at over 300+ Youtube videos of on the job paramedic videos, saying to myself I wish that was me.

You might try to get some third-rides, to get a good look at the job, beforehand.