Critical Care CCEMT-P or CCP-C course

Zablackw

I'm a paramedic student at the moment and have my eyes set on working in more of a critical care setting, be it flight or ground. I am looking at this for my future in EMS and something to do later on when I become more "seasoned" but which course is better, the CCEMT-P at USMB or the CCP-C? Also if I have one of those courses if I plan to go into Nursing, how helpful are those courses for CCRN? I have heard mixed feelings saying it is a joke and some saying it was very helpful in getting the CCRN.

The CCP-C isn't a course, it is an exam. CCEMT-P will give you a decent enough prep for the CCP-C and perhaps to a lesser extent, the CCRN. However, you will need a couple of thousand hours as an RN in an acute or critical care setting before you will be allowed to sit for the CCRN.

The CCRN still looks impressive on a resume, the CCP-C still has people asking 'wassat?'

Edited by scott33
  • Like 1

I think she/he may have been asking about the difference in the UMBC programme and the U of Iowa programme. I have heard from fairly reliable sources that the two are interchangeable as they are based on the same curriculum.

I have heard from some who have taken both and say the University of Iowa course maybe slightly better, but that is just hearsay.

It's good that you are thinking ahead, but don't put the cart before the horse. Finish your medic first. It is recommended by both schools that you have at least 1 year of field experience before taking either.

Welcome to the City!

Edited by JakeEMTP
  • Like 1

I'm not going to discourage your long term goals. But perhaps, for now, since you're still a student, you should focus on what you need to do to earn your paramedic certification and what is necessary to become "seasoned". Right now, that's a long way off for you. While it's good to have goals, you can't reach them if you're not building your foundation now.