Hello from Germany!

Bernhard

Hello, my name is Bernhard and it's my first post in this forum. :wave:

I'm a german Rettungsassistent, working part time in our district wide EMS (covering roughly 120.000 inhabitants with 2 BLS & 4 ALS units plus an emergency physicians car, 12hr shifts, ~3-5 ALS calls per shift per unit). The location is near Munich in the southern german state of Bavaria.

With our local Red Cross branch I volunteer among other duties as a EMS first responder (ALS care but no transport, ~200 calls per year) and a medical MCI & disaster response squad (~2 calls per year).

Additionally I serve regularly as on-scene-commander for EMS (1 week on call duty every one or two months).

In the EMS field I'm now active for >25 years. For a living I'm a freelancing IT engineer.

Since I'm always interested in new views and knowledge exchange, I'm trying to learn from EMS around the world. So, I'm here, expecting an active and inspirating community @ emtcity and sincerely hope to be able to have some valuable input, too... :)

Regards,

Bernhard

PS: Rettungsassistent (Abbr. "RA") is the highest level of non-academic EMS care provider in Germany (next level would be emergency physician).

Guten Tag !

Welcome to EMT City ... from a Canadian "alter Mann".

We have many German tourists that visit in "summertime" everyone I have met are wunderbar and they do know good :beer:

Jump into the fray any time.

cheers

Welcome brother...it's exciting to have you!

I only know one German..my dentist. I was scared shitless to go to her, being a child of the World War propaganda, (Germans are cold, and mechanical, unkind) but had no choice when my mother called her for me when I had a terrible toothache. She called my cell and said, "Are you on your way then?" I said, "Now??" She said, "Of course. Hurry now."