Combat Medics, Military and Contracted.

Sup folks,

I'm pretty young. I'm 17, but I have a lot of experience behind me and big aspirations. I've been a member of the Civil Air Patrol for six years now, and I'm currently a CNA. I had my heart set on a civilian ER nurse for quite a while, but I really am already a military man at heart. I thrive in that life style. I'm currently researching contract work overseas. One could literally retire early on that.

So the questions are:

• Aside from pararescue (because I know ALL about it, and want nothing to do with it) what emergency medicine is there in the military? Do combat medics get paid more than the typical NCO?

• Say I got my RN and Paramedic over the next three years, and then enlisted. What position would be ideal? Would I be better off just getting an EMTB license if I want to be a combat medic?

• Realistically, what are the odds of actually getting a contract in the middle east (or anywhere else) doing medic work?

• How good is the GI bill, really? I mean I've read all about it. But none of the guys I know care about college yet. Do you really just get your college paid for? I could, in theory, go play in the sandbox, make a few bucks, and then come back and get my RN degree and settle down.

I dunno. I'm just sitting here realizing it's time to start thinking hard about these things. And I know what I like. Which is medical work, the military, and money. The only time those three coincide is with organizations like blackwater. (err.."UStraining") :rofl:

Sup folks,

I'm pretty young. I'm 17, but I have a lot of experience behind me and big aspirations. I've been a member of the Civil Air Patrol for six years now, and I'm currently a CNA. I had my heart set on a civilian ER nurse for quite a while, but I really am already a military man at heart. I thrive in that life style. I'm currently researching contract work overseas. One could literally retire early on that.

So the questions are: