Graduating College...Back to School?

Hey all,

I've been on these boards for a few years now, mainly sitting back and learning from everyone, but now I have a question for you all. I've been an EMT-B for almost 4 years now; got my start volunteering doing 911, but since being in college my main area of EMS has been IFT. After much thought/debate/prayer, my heart is set on a career as a paramedic. It's the time of year where everyone at my University is lining up job interviews, going to job fairs, applying for grad school, but what should I do? Part of me just wants to be done with school for a while (K-12 and then 4 years of undergrad takes a lot out of you!) and jump right in as an EMT-B with the county fire department. While jumping right in as an EMT-B sounds good, I'm fearful that if I don't go back to school right away for my medic, then I will lose the motivation to do so.

This might sound bad, but as I'm looking around for schools to get my AA degree as a paramedic, I'm being turned off by some of the prerequisites that they want me to take...let me explain. As an undergrad I took a variety of science classes including A&P 1 and 2, and some of these paramedic programs will accept my A&P but want me to take the prerequisites for A&P even though I already have A&P! It just seems backwards to me. Why take the prerequisites when I already have the class?

So I guess my question can be summed up as this: Upon graduation, do I apply for classes in the Fall and begin my Paramedic studies? Or should I take some time off and work as an EMT-B? I feel like the answer is obvious, but any outside advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

Westside

It's as simple as asking yourself do you want to be an EMT or do you want to be a paramedic? Paramedic school's tough, I know, I just got done with it. And I wish I'd had some experience as an EMT prior to doing it, but you can get experience working part time as an EMT while you're going through paramedic school.