swat medic

I am intrested in becoming a swat medic with a big city swat team. I am wondering if anyone on this page is an actual swat medic, how do i get started, what to expect, ect. I would love to talk to someone who works as a swat medic. I am also hoping to maybe work in dallas, or new york city. So if you have any experiance in these locations, it would be even better. k thanks :)

I get to work as a SWAT Medic, I am certified as a paramedic also. That is part time/volunteer for the local Sheriff's Department. I have over 30 years experience in EMS, last 20 as a paramediic. I have known and worked with most of the team in one form or another on the street before coming on the team. I have 22 years in the Army, lots of good training there. I am a certified SWAT operator and will probably go to the FBI school this year. I carry and own my own M4, Glock 22 and back up piece a Glock 27. If you are not on a team one of the training schools would be good credentials to have but most require an affiliation with a SWAT team. I know a lot of the teams are actually requiring you to be a police officer first. Best to explore the possibilities of teams in your area get some experience then try for the big city stuff. This is just my experience and humble opinion. What ever you do enjoy and learn.

• Like 1

i wanty to get hired on with my citys police department and go from there. I am one year out from getting my paramedic. What classes, after that should i take, and what field should i specialize in before going to swat? What physical fitness standards are there, and how do you recomend getting ready for them. Is there any certain areas i should really work on. Sorry for the questions but i want to get a head start