Dealing with death and gore

OK, I am very new to EMS and had my first call to a DOA. It was an older lady and she had been down for several days, maybe a week. For some reason it did not seem to phase me. Is that normal? I am more concerned with the fact that it seemed so routine and was not in the least bit upsetting or anything. I did help hook her up to a 3 lead to run the strip. We had a student doing clinicals and he had never done a 3 lead so he and I hooked them up and printed the strip. Is this normal or should I be concerned about my reaction. For some reason I thought that this would bother me more.

• Like 1

Generally, I find myself not to be "bothered" deeply by non-gruesome, non-violent, non-traumatic deaths. It's part of life, people die, perhaps you've accepted that. If you're feeling badly, because you think that you should feel something, then talk to someone.

• Like 1

I have to agree - the "normal" deaths were, and are, "un-moving" to me... I'm not saddened by their loss. I feel deeply for the family who now has lost a loved one, but am not affected deeply by the loss of the person.

However, I can say that traumatic deaths, unexpected deaths (particularly to younger, healthy people)...now those sting me in the gut. I also have two children, so ANYTHING relating to kids is much more emotional to me than a natural death....+

everyone is programed differently. I am not affected for more than a couple hrs by any death I have ever experienced. traumatic, natural, SIDS, even people (3) who have coded in my rig alone with me (all pulmonary edemas I had to watch drown).....

The fact is, I am very good at removing the "person" from the patient... I show empathy, and treat everyone with respect, but in the end, I rarely take anything home.