EMTs and Medics, take care of yourselves

Hey guys heres something for you.I have been an EMT for about 20 yrs or so.Back in Dec 08 I had a massive heart attack.I spent 33 days in a coma.When I woke up I had an LVAD implanted in me.I am now home and waiting for a transplant.If there are of you out there that have heard of them seen anyone with one?do you know how you would treat the Patient?Drop me a line or lets chat about it here.Ever since I have been back doing things with my volunteer fire co.I have been more than willing to talk to other EMTs and Paramedics about the LVAD.belive it or not there are more and more people out there that have them.Im more than willing to talk to any and all of you about it

Kevin McCarthy

Hey guys heres something for you.I have been an EMT for about 20 yrs or so.Back in Dec 08 I had a massive heart attack.I spent 33 days in a coma.When I woke up I had an LVAD implanted in me.I am now home and waiting for a transplant.If there are of you out there that have heard of them seen anyone with one?do you know how you would treat the Patient?Drop me a line or lets chat about it here.Ever since I have been back doing things with my volunteer fire co.I have been more than willing to talk to other EMTs and Paramedics about the LVAD.belive it or not there are more and more people out there that have them.Im more than willing to talk to any and all of you about it

Kevin McCarthy

What do you have? The heart mate II is the most popular device in my area.

Take care,

chbare.

At my last job we had a patient in our service area with a LVAD. The hospital that was caring for him sent out a letter to the EMS service that outlined care tips for the patient in the event he required EMS. They also sent an education DVD about the device. I'm pretty sure I was the only one that watched it, but I'm a heart girl, so I was pretty interested.