Oz/NZ Paramedic Forums

Fox800

Are there any forums that are specific to EMS in Australia and/or New Zealand? I'd like to read up as much as I can. I'm considering applying for employment in the near future (after I visit) and would like to find out as much as possible. :)

I'm considering applying for employment in NZ or Australia and would like any advice or feedback you guys can offer. I've been a full-time paramedic in Texas for about one year and nine months.

On the Oz side, I'm specifically interested in the Queensland Ambulance Service, due to their active recruiting of international applicants and the overall positive feedback I've received regarding the service and life in Queensland in a whole. I am interested in other services as well if you have any to recommend to international applicants.

As far as New Zealand goes, if you guys have any experience or anecdotes about international applicants with St. John's or WFA, I would appreciate it.

I'm young (early twenties), single, and I have no kids. I'd like to experience life in another part of the world and I think that both countries would be incredible places to live and work.

We are somewhat different here; authority to practice and clinical governance are in-service run, not by the Government.

St John members do not legally have the independent ability to supply or administer prescription medicines to patients, or to use certain pieces of clinical equipment. This legal ability can only be granted by a St John Medical Advisor and as such ATP is a transfer of this legal ability to a member by, and under the oversight of, a St John Medical Advisor. In practice this ability is granted by a partnership between a St John Medical Advisor and St John Management.