Career change from EMS to.......?

Fox800

Have you moved on from EMS to greener pastures? I want to hear your story. I'm still new to the game but I'm already looking into new things. I don't have a family to tie me down so I can really go anywhere and do anything. In particular I'm looking at becoming a military officer or pursuing a federal law enforcement position (FBI, Customs, State Department).

I'm supposed to start my prerequisites for medical school this week (I have a B.B.A. and none of the sciences I need). Somehow the future for physicians isn't looking as shiny...with baby boomers retiring, lawsuits, malpractice insurance, reimbursements down, etc.

Well, Ive been looking into the Red Cross. Starting at the lower end of the totem pole as a driver/technician Id be making $16.03 an hour full time, plenty of overtime and shift differential, union and bennefits. Id be driving the cargo trucks and setting up for the drives, handling, labeling and stocking donor blood and sometimes cheufering the BSNTs and nurses around too.

That same department is in charge of the BSNTs (phlebotomists) and nurses. If I choose to go for my BSNT its in house free training and then I can start out at almost $17 an hour with the same bennefits. They said at my interview nursing school (and some financial assistance) may be a possibility but having the time for it would be the tricky part.

If you are wanting to be a federal officer, you'd better apply before your 40th birthday. I looked in to Border Patrol and Federal Protective Service. Both had an age limit. And you would be up against all the vets with combat experience coming home.

And you would be up against all the vets with combat experience coming home.