Stocking supplies for a TEMS bag

I'm a paramedic with our county based ems. The county sheriff's office asked myself and 2 other medics to join their tac team. We've been training with them for about 9 months now. The sheriff finally has some money to spend on us and we are putting our packs together. We need some suggestion on what to fill them with and what type of packs we should go with. Is a vest type pack better than carrying a back pack or do we need both. All suggestions greatly appreciated.

PM sent.

'zilla

Soldiers in war zones to be given new bandages

By Jeff Schogol, Stars and Stripes

Pacific edition, Wednesday, October 17, 2008

ARLINGTON, Va. — All soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan will get new

bandages to treat life-threatening bleeding, replacing the "hemcon"

bandages they use now.

The Army has ordered more than 270,000 packages of Quik-Clot Combat

Gauze and 17,700 packages of WoundStat, said Lt. Col. Sean Morgan of

the Office of the Surgeon General of the Army.

Combat Gauze, made by Z-Medica Corp. in Wallingford, Conn, is gauze

with a hemostatic agent while WoundStat, made by TraumaCure in

Bethesda, Md., is a granular substance meant to mix with blood to form

a seal over wounds.

The Army plans for every soldier to have a package of Combat Gauze

while every combat lifesaver issued a combat lifesaver bag will have

three packages of Combat Gauze, and all combat medics will have three

packages of Combat Gauze and two of WoundStat, Army officials said.

Morgan said the hemostatic agents would be in Qatar by Nov. 30, but he

could not say when all troops in Iraq and Afghanistan would have them.

About 60,000 packages of Combat Gauze and all of the packages of

WoundStat are in Qatar, waiting to be shipped to soldiers in Iraq and

Afghanistan, officials said.

The products are intended to be used in cases of life-threatening

bleeding where tourniquets cannot be applied, said Col. Paul Cordts of

the Army surgeon general's office.