Paramedic Burnout issues

jw

Hi all. I am a recent grad from a EMT-B program. I enjoyed the classroom learning as well as the ride-alongs. I didn't really understand how significant off an issue burnout was until my ride -alongs where some of the paramedics would complain when there peers were not around. I heard some of it but I still feel like I have only half the story.So lay it on the table all of you paramedics. I want to know the downs of being a paramedic aside from the usual long hours. At least here in the SF Bay Area a lot of paramedics are pulling $100k plus.

Im hoping some of you guys can talk freely in anonymity here so I can make a more informed decision before moving further with this.

Thanks for your input.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

long hours

bitchy nurses

cantankerous docs

stinky and crazy partners

long hours

oh did I already say long hours

low pay

low respect

but if you work the job right there is tremendous satisfaction that you did make a difference in someone's life.

Even if you held the hand of a little ole' lady to the ER after she fell and cut her head - and you comforted her then you made a difference

This might be a sign of where you are doing your clinicals - it makes one think about whether you want to work for that particular service. If there are more than 20% of their force that you are seeing are complaining then there may be something deeper going on at that service to make their people burned out.