CCEMT-P just what does it stand for

I was doing some work over in the ER yesterday, getting ready for our computer system go-live and I noticed two paramedics talking to each other. Each of them had on their name badges, CCEMT-P after their names.

I asked them what CCEMT-P meant and I was surprised to hear them say "Critical Care Paramedic". I asked if that was a certification or licensure level in Mass and they said Yes "we are critical care paramedics"

Not sure if this is true or not but I didn't think massachussetts had that level of certification.

I'm going to keep the services names and the names of the individuals out of it.

I'm just curious if this is a recognized licensure level? or if it is someone saying to the public that I'm a Critical Care paramedic when in reality I'm really a Paramedic. Could this be against the rules of the Mass dept of EMS or whatever licensing body is in Mass?

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

http://ehs.umbc.edu/CE/CCEMT-P/

Look at the link above. No where in the program description does it state critical care paramedic. In fact, many other types of providers can take this program. It is not exclusive to paramedics. In addition, it is considered a basic introduction to critical care transport.

A few states may consider successful course completion a critical care credential. However, this is not the case in many parts of the country.

http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=eohhs2subtopic...amp;sid=Eeohhs2

I do not see critical care paramedic among the recognized EMS providers in the state in question.

Take care,

chbare.

Up here in Northern Maine (Southern Occupied Canada) they use the UMBC CCEMTP program for both Paramedics and Nurses. The program is used to train experienced personnel for critical care transport teams. It really doesn't change the scope of practice for the Paramedic in the prehospital setting, but it does help with critical interfacility transfers when a nurse accompanies them.