Need a Mentor

tndad

Hello Everyone...Nashville, TN...looking for some answers. First, my apologies if this isn't the correct forum. My wife and I are expecting our first child, and I need to make some changes in my career so we can have a stable and rewarding life. I have a desire to become an EMT, however I do not have the slightest clue where to start. I've tried the net but unable to pull a lot of info about what steps I need to take in starting the Training and Classes I will need. If you could please guide me and let me know any particulars and the advise you have, I would greatly appreciate it. From what I've read there are different stages in being an EMT, I'd be interested in knowing how to start and where. Are there online classes for all or some of the training and education? Is prior college or degree a must? Salary? Of course I'm not looking for riches, but it would be nice to know... Thank You All So Much

Here are a couple of quality online programs. You will still have to attend skills classes as well as clinicals(hospital and ambulance skill practice with real patients).

www.percomonline.com

www.techproservices.net

I do suggest you go all the way to paramedic. Start with EMT basic then immediately continue your education to paramedic. Do not stop, slow down,etc.

"Stable and rewarding " are 2 words I would not use to describe the life of an EMT.

Stable= bank teller, Mon-Fri 7-4 weekends and holidays off, no midnights, weekends, evenings holidays

First, you work rotating shifts, at all hours of day/night, and weekends holidays too, so you can and will be away from your new family, not as bad as military, but a close 2nd or 3rd.

Rewarding, sometimes, the question always is, do we cheat death, or merely prolong life? We do help people so, that can be rewarding.