Uniforms?

BVESBC

I'm interested to see what other companys out of my area use for uniforms. We until recently used polo's (the shirt) with all of the identifying paraphernalia and Navy Blue Uniform pant's, No wacker AKA/ BDU's No Dickies. We decided recently that we wanted a more professional looking uniform and settled on Class A white short sleeve uniform shirts and kept the pants the same. I'm just looking for others opinions on this and I'm interested in what they use.

• Replies 114
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am a firefighter/emt in Chicago and I work my tower ladder as well as a bls ambulance. We were issued flame retardant blue pants that we use for both positions. We were issued work boots/shoes. Our fire and ems shirts are blue polos (summer wear) with the city patch on one sleeve and the fd patch on the other. We can get away with just wearing a fire dept blue house shirt (T-Shirt) if we want. We can also wear our long sleeve shirts (Winter wear).

We were issued windbreakers with liners for rain and winter. I dont like short sleeve shirts or t-shirts. I feel more protected with long sleeve shirts. BSI / bodily fluids and blood are very communicable when your arm are exposed. I know it gets hot but that is what a/c is for. I would like cargo pants with pockets to carry commonly used items like xtra gloves, pen light, etc. But we were not issued them and cannot wear them.

Our medics are basically issued the same items as our FD. Ambulance officers wear white shirts though. They have full turn out gear with diferent coloring to differentiate them at a fire scene. We must carry our turn out gear on the ambo at all times.

You must look professional but also have some sort or protection. I would also caution all members to wear only what is approved or issued. If you get injured or are exposed to anything and you are not wearing issued items you might not be covered.