Basic vs. Medic

I was reading an earlier post about someone who was taking an EMT course in High school, and he wanted to know if it was a good idea. He was able to pull from that discussion that yes it was. What I was reading though, was an argument that he should go straight to medic school afterwards. I was appalled to hear that there were a few people who discounted basics as inadequate and antiquated. Their argument was that there was no knowledge or skill gained by working the field as a basic, and that they were all but a useless body in the field of emergency medicine. I was sickened to hear that these individuals, some who had spent time as a basic, could feel as though emt basics had nothing to offer. I am a Paramedic, have been for some time, I was a basic for many many years. In all 18 years under my belt working in EMS. To this day, as both a Paramedic, and field Supervisor, I find my basic EMT's to be both valuable, and grossly under used by many systems. To those who truly believe that they are both better and smarter than basics, I say "SHAME ON YOU!!". We all started as a basic, and it is those "skills" that we rely upon when things go bad. If we miss a line, miss a tube, or miss a diagnosis, we fall back on the experiences we had as basics to care for that patient. When we hit those lines, tube that patient, and nail that diagnosis, it is the experiences we had as basics that allow us to do that. What's the difference between difficulty breathing, and anxiety. M.I. and anxiety? Whats the difference between a swollen reddened lower extremity, and a compound fracture of the tibia?....Experience!! Lets embrace our basics, and offer them the environment to gain very valuable street experience first before we encourage them to become Paramedics. Don't we owe it to our patients to be the very best at every level before moving on? Isn't that why the National registry created different levels who's skills are clearly defined and are vastly different?