Getting Re Certified?

I was an EMT in the US Air Force for 2 years before I got out and because my state did not accept the National Registry, I ended up getting side tracked and took another career route. I now want to get back into EMS, I always loved and missed doing it, I was very good at it and was prepairing to take ACLS when I decided not to re enlist.

It has been over 20 years since I was a Registered EMT so have to re take the entire coarse from what I understand. My problem is no one in this area is offering any class for a while. Is there any way to do this online and do the testing and practicals at a EMS facility.

Also most of the classes around here are over an hour away, and if I take it in the winter weather can be a problem also some saturday classes will be imposible to make, are you allowed to miss X amount of classes, or make them up.

I am not wanting to bypass all the work and learning, just frustrated that its only offered annually around here and the class is just winding down now.

Thanks in advance for any information on this.

Denny

Could you give us some more information on where you're located?

I know in Maryland there are usually classes starting every 6 months or so. And to be state certified you have to maintain an affiliation with a fire department or another EMS agency.

If you're wanting to go for you're paramedic eventually, you'll be better off going straight for it now instead of doing EMT-B.

Oh, and I seriously wouldn't even look at taking an online class. First of all, many of them are not legit with the state, and second, there are certain things that you gain from a classroom experience that you won't get from an online program.

It depends on where you live. Every state is different in there certification requirements.