PTSD

I'm still kinda new to emtcity, so everyone please bear with me.

I've had a few experiences over the last few months that are still getting to me. My partner has become my lifesaver, but I feel like I'm putting too much onto him. I want to get my life back.

Almost three months ago, I was sexually assaulted twice in one week. Both people worked in the ems field, one in my company. One of the reasons it's still hitting me so hard is that its happened before, approximately five years ago. I didn't start talking about the first incident until a year ago, and I waited a week to tell anyone about the other two.

I've pissed off some people by telling them I'm used to being treated this way. I know I shouldn't. I know I should be pissed at guys for treating me this way. I just can't. Other than my family (and yes, that includes my ems family), and one ex, I've been treated like this from most of the guys I know. It's almost like I'm there to make them happy, and I'm just an afterthought.

I know some of the responses I'm going to get are counselling, things of that nature. I'm just wondering if there is anything I can do short of that? I've been talking with people, especially my partner. For a space of about a month, he and my dad were the only two males I trusted. While on shift, he never left my sight.

I'm still having nightmares, but they are down to about one every two or three days. People that know are making me talk, which is probably why I'm getting better. I just wonder if its ever gonna go away. I wonder if I'm ever truly going to feel comfortable around guys again. I wonder if life is ever going to go back to normal.

Thank you all for letting me rant. :)

-Kat

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

What an unpleasant experience for you!