Anybody else start with the "deer in the headlights&quo

I started my EMT-B training class last Tuesday, finally! And, I thought that I was going to be OK! The book made me queisy (sp?) and while I was poking around EMT city reading all the posts and scenerios I just keep saying to myself, "Am I ever going to be able to cut it?"

While I am an excellent student, and I want to become a physician's assistant, I just can't hack that "am I good enough" feeling.

Anybody else feel this way? How did you overcome it? For those of you in PA, did you feel that the course prepared you to go to the field? FWIW, I plan on trying to get in with the local rural EMS so I doubt that I will be seeing too many GSW's or crazy stuff...mostly drug OD's, SOB's, cardiac, MVA's, etc.

The queasy feeling might be just short term, and a lot of the time it passes with exposure and deeper education, sometimes it does not though. But I am concerned if the "book" and some basic scenarios over whelms you. P.A. is much definitely much harder and although, the likelihood of "gore" is potentially there, there is much more you will exposed to... pelvics, rectal abscesses comes in to mine that I see P.A.'s get to take care of.. usually whatever the physician does not want to deal with.

Definitely not trying to discourage you by any means but have you completed your cadaver anatomy, or some other basic sciences yet? As well, do you fully understand the general role of the P.A., especially in the emergency department?

Have you discussed the career with an active P.A. as well ? I would suggest doing so before going any deeper into studies.

I wish you the best of luck,

R/r 911

Emilea PA C,

I feel your pain! I was part way through my Basic class when it hit me...Nothing makes sense! My instructor told me to wait...it would all line up in time...and it did.