Barely failed PAT. Short girl:(

Hi everyone,

I just want some tips other than continue working out. I am a semi-new EMT and just did my AMR PAT. I got through all of it easily until I had to reload the 165 lb stretcher. To get it in I have to lift above my shoulders or get some extra strength. For reference, I am 5 foot 1" and 108 lbs. I will retest when I am scheduled but would appreciate some tips. Thank you. 

I am allowed to, I'm trying to figure out what work outs, other than just bench pressing, I can do to improve my quality for the PAT and reality. The weight is not bad until I get to my shoulders with the gurney. 

Without knowing specifics as to your situation please consider working with a trainer.  A good, reputable trainer will listen to what your needs/goals are and will be able to tailor a workout to achieve that goal.  They'll do so safely while attempting to minimize your risk for injury.

Some of the physically toughest providers I've worked with have been smaller women like yourself.  You can do it.  It's just a matter of getting it done and not quitting on the physical gains you'll make while prepping for the test.

I am planning on seeing a Trainer four times a week starting in two days. I am still technically healing from a knee dislocation (10 months ago) due to patient battery. :/ I want to be able to be productive on a rig. Any training to pass this and gain insight on handling equipment at my height is my goal. I was able to unload the weight on the gurney and hold it for 5 seconds no problem. Lifting it up seems more quad related which may be why I struggled. Thank you for your advice :)

There is a specific machine in most gyms that is an arms strengthening machine.  It looks like a bench press but it's in a standing position.  You could use that machine to guage your strength and then work to increase.