A bit too young

Medic60

Hey I'm a 14 year old trained BLS/EMT and I need some help studying for my EMT B certification, does anybody have any good advice??? I've been working for my department for about half a year as a paid mechanic, and volunteer BLS/EMT, so I'm not as experienced as a lot of you guys.

I'm a really good Mechanic for my department, so they decided to train me in BLS so i'd be able to help on scenes, I have to wait 4 years until i get to take the exam, but i can study for it...I've responded to a couple calls as EMT but ive never done nor would i dare to perform any ALS or anything like that...

I've responded to a couple calls as EMT

No, you have responded to a couple of calls as a citizen who has some knowledge of first aid and have a few friends who are EMTs. You ARE NOT an EMT until you have a card from the state saying you are and approval from your medical director. Thinking anything else is dangerous and will get you and your pts in trouble. You seem eager, which is good, but don't let it end your career before it has even started.

• Like 2

No, you have responded to a couple of calls as a citizen who has some knowledge of first aid and have a few friends who are EMTs. You ARE NOT an EMT until you have a card from the state saying you are and approval from your medical director. Thinking anything else is dangerous and will get you and your pts in trouble. You seem eager, which is good, but don't let it end your career before it has even started.

Actually my state has issued me with a joint training/trained firefighter EMT card as we are a dual department...Its government issued and states that I am a nationally registered EMT just not my level...I am trained by my state and am USA nationally registered...

1. What state do you live in?

2. How can your govt issue you a card saying you are certified if you have not completed the testing?