Non-Fire EMS in the US? German EMT-I Student in need of advice...

PRImedic

Hi,

My name is Patrick and I'm a 20 year old EMT-Intermediate student here in Germany.

After finishing my German Baccalaeurate (High School Diploma) this spring I'd like to attend Med. School.

Due to the high entrance criteria over here I'll need to wait a couple of years in order to get in.

Now I'm thinking about starting Paramedic training in the US this fall/next spring.

I'm thinking of a 2+2 program which would entitle myself to work as a Paramedic after the first 2 years...

2nd half could be pre-med school curriculum.

Before Med School I'd love to gain some hands on patient experience, routine and knowledge of a wide scope of practice!

I was recommended to look for a county / state of education where EMS is not the stepchild of the Fire departments ;)

Due to the out-of-state tuition fee I'd like to attend community college for as long as possible!

I was told to look at Wake Tech, NC:

http://www.waketech.edu/programs-courses/credit/emergency-medical-science/ems-degree-program

Could you:

- Recommend me a community college in the US where EMS is taught similary?

- Your favourite county where EMS is disconnected from Fire agencies?

- Share your experience with international (German?) EMS students and their performance in EMS Degree Programs?

This summer is fully booked from July 28th to November 3rd as I'm going to backpack around SE-Asia.

Hence programs could start in the end of 2014.

My current plan is to start the German "Rettungsassistent" (very narrow scope of practice comp. to a US-Paramedic) this November.

Maybe your advice makes me change my plans!

Give it a try :)