BVM for difficulty breathing

benasack2000

First of all welcome to your own thread! Good on you for stepping out and asking a very good question! I am only an EMT so I hope some of the medics will chime in. I am interested in their opinion as well.

I have found that many patients with dyspnea that are alert are not receptive to rescue breathing. I find that pulse oximetry is a useful tool in determining how well a patient is perfusing and shape my interventions accordingly. If they need oxygen, that is a good place to start. I try to keep the pulse oximetry around 94%.

Discovering the underlying condition that is the causal factor for the difficult breathing will ultimately be the key to improving their ventilation through interventions. The patient might benefit from nebulization or a dose from their measured dose inhaler. The patient might be having an allergic reaction, or have a host of pulmonary and cardiac pathologies or diseases that could be causing their increased work of breathing. If we can identify and rectify the cause we will do the most good in reducing their respiratory distress.

I always ventilate adults at the same rate for rescue breathing although there are cases when we would want to ventilate slower of faster such as head trauma or preparing for an advanced airway intervention.

In pediatrics I only ventilate if the patient will accept the ventilation. A child that will let us breath for them is an indication that they need the help. If the baby is well enough to fight off the mask he most likely is ventilating well on their own with the exception of an occluded airway which would require other interventions.

Good on you for starting an airway thread!

• Like 3