Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account
Current Chat Room Users
0 users are in Main Room:



Did you know it is free to become a member?  Just click "Create Account" on the top right of this page.


Photo
- - - - -

Switching to hospital pacer after transport

pacer TCP hospital

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 snatchgripRDL

snatchgripRDL
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Occupation:Firefighter/Paramedic
Reputation: 0
Neutral



Posted 18 December 2012 - 08:45 PM

What is the process to change over to the hospital pacer following transport? Scenairo - in the field, find a patient in symptomatic brady, no response to medications, initiate pacing with good electrical and mechanical capture using the Lifepak 12. You arrive at hospital and the ER wants to continue to pace the patient. The ER also has the Lifepak 12, how do you switch Lifepaks and pads without losing capture?
  • 0

#2 mobey

mobey
  • Elite Members
  • 2,241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lost in Rural AB
  • Occupation:Internet Whacko
Reputation: 270
Excellent

Posted 18 December 2012 - 10:04 PM

This is one of the best questions I have seen posted here in ages.

I always end up trading the ER LP's until we get back, but that is the nice part of working remote EMS, we always return to the same community, and have trust between agancies.
  • 1

#3 scubanurse

scubanurse
  • Elite Members
  • 1,771 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:(OIIIIO)
  • Occupation:RN-BSN
Reputation: 197
Excellent

Posted 19 December 2012 - 01:25 AM

Great question! I would imagine the ER can place their pacer pads on and gain capture at the same time you have capture and then you can remove your pads? Or they should have the ability to switch the pads over and then re-gain capture?
  • 0

#4 Arctickat

Arctickat
  • EMT City Sponsor
  • 1,887 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelvington, Sask
  • Interests:SCUBA, Flying
  • Occupation:Paramedork
Reputation: 382
Excellent

Posted 19 December 2012 - 01:33 AM

It's not something I've ever encountered and likely never would. If we're pacing someone here they'd go straight to a distant CCU after stopping at our local hospital. Once we arrive in the CCU they have a completely different setup and therefore we have to d/c pacing and they put theirs on.
  • 0

#5 Curiosity

Curiosity
  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ontario
  • Occupation:Paramedic
Reputation: 30
Good

Posted 19 December 2012 - 02:05 AM

I've seen them call in cardiology and have a trans venous pacer put in place before DCing external pacing.
  • 1




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users