AMR Suspends Medics For Working For Competitor

mikeymedic1984

http://articles.courant.com/2012-09-15/business/hc-amr-paramedics-suspended-20120915_1_ambulance-service-amr-paramedics-life-support-services

I know this has been around as a topic since AMR's existence, but really ? Are we working with top secret nuclear codes here ? Is this fair ? Is it legal ? Is there anyone at the competitor who does not know which contracts AMR has in their area ? I wonder if they have any problems hiring medics who work for another 911 municipal service ? What secrets could the average EMT divulge that would hurt AMR ? Someone from AMR please help me understand ?

As a business owner, I employ non competes as well...no you are not dealing with nuclear secrets but each employee has value and intimate knowledge of how "the inside" works.

If you are a good employee, which most are...you will try to improve whatever service you are working for. You may see how I conduct business regarding scheduling, inventory, whatever...something totally benign to you the non vested individual. To me, the owner concerned with profit, those tid bits of knowledge are valuable. I could have an employee improve my processes and help me with cost savings all by sharing knowledge from another employer which they thought was inconsequential.

If I am competing with someone, I do not want them to have any advantage...period.

Contracts...sure my competitor may know who I service contractually, but they may not know HOW. Again, a loyal employee may inadvertently reveal sensitive information which could cost me a lot. Or take it to the extreme, a disgruntled employee may try to obtain info on how the contracts work and share that info to harm me.

There is a lot of value in knowing when a contract expires, satisfaction of client with said contract, payment terms, fees, etc...there is so much that you are completely oblivious to because business is not your business...being an EMS provider is your business.