First time EMT-B carry on gear?

EMTDenny

Hey guys, I am curious, what should a EMT basic carry during the shift? I am a new EMT in New York state. I wanted to know so i can purchase some stuff ahead of time. Thanks a lot gang!! Any answer is always appreciated.

• Like 1

Great advise from docharris.

The truck should have all of the equipment you would need.I carry my own eye protection, trauma shears and extra pens and sharpies. Vicks vapor rub for the smells, extra socks, skivies and shirts in case I get soiled.

I also carry a quick reference guide that I have been building fo a while.

The job is a lot of fun. Enjoy.

Edited by DFIB

You will learn that the longer you do the job, the less you carry. As previously stated, anything you need SHOULD be in the ambulance (make sure you do your 800 check before getting on the road). I always brought my own stethoscope (sharing ear boogers always grossed me out). I also brought my own trauma shears since the ones on the bus were always dull and couldn't cut through butter.

My advice would be to get yourself a stethoscope and then reevaluate your needs after you have worked for a bit.

You are at the young stage of your career where you need to spend alot of money on "stuff" that you do not really need; much like when you were a teenager and needed that $500.00 car stereo that busted your eardrums. So, I would purchase:

1. A complete jump kit for your car, including PPE for when you stop at accident scenes, an inexpensive stethoscope, glucometer, and B/P cuff.

2. Scissors.

3. A good reflective safety vest for accident scenes.

Buy these three things

1. Quality but not bank breaking stethoscope

2. Trauma shears

3. Package of Bic or similar pens(they go missing faster than you can replace them)

These will work if you are working a transfer service or a 911 service.

Once you get out there working you will determine what you need more of or need to purchase additionally.