DFW area EMS

Tiff

I'm still a newbie to this site AND the world of EMT.. I graduate with my AAS - Paramedic in December 2011.. I'm excited, but I'm nervous about finding a job. I am in East Texas right now but as soon as I graduate I will be in the DFW area and was hoping some of you guys could help me learn how to apply to the different companies and wondering which ones require a dual cert. All help is appreciated!

Tiff

I really have no idea about the DFW area. I think, Dallas is fire-based, but don't quote me.

I just want to congratulate you on getting your degree and not taking the easiest route to the world of EMS.

If I'm not mistaken, I think TX will have you licensed instead of certified for obtaining the degree! That in and of itself is something!

Good job.

Jim

• Like 1

I really have no idea about the DFW area. I think, Dallas is fire-based, but don't quote me.

I just want to congratulate you on getting your degree and not taking the easiest route to the world of EMS.

If I'm not mistaken, I think TX will have you licensed instead of certified for obtaining the degree! That in and of itself is something!

Good job.

Jim

Thank you Jim, it has been a long road but I am ready to be done. I am nervous to be in the real world, but I guess that is normal. I just pray I retain as much of this as possible!

Dallas Fire Rescue proudly boasts 24 week trained firemedic idiots who do not carry analgesics and if my memory is correct they hold exclusive 911 rights.

Hey, at least they are better than Houston with its 12 week Paramedics

Everything is bigger in Texas, except Paramedic education ... 625 literal clock hours is acceptable.

Edited by kiwimedic

Dallas Fire Rescue proudly boasts 24 week trained firemedic idiots who do not carry analgesics and if my memory is correct they hold exclusive 911 rights.

Hey, at least they are better than Houston with its 12 week Paramedics