Salary

medicgirl09

I am currently a student at the local community collage and was trying to debate on what I want to do in life. seeing the lights flashing just makes me want to be there and be the first one to help who ever is in danger, but my biggest thing is what is that salary? Is it livable on or is it something you do just for a little bit tell you get your career going? someone please help me!!!

I am currently a student at the local community collage and was trying to debate on what I want to do in life. seeing the lights flashing just makes me want to be there and be the first one to help who ever is in danger, but my biggest thing is what is that salary? Is it livable on or is it something you do just for a little bit tell you get your career going? someone please help me!!!

If it wasn't a livable wage, we would have major shortages across the nation. However, we have a surplus in most areas and thousands upon thousands of EMS folks who are doing the job and continue to do the job every day.

A livable wage is defined by you, the individual.

Do you want bigger and better toys, do you want frequent vacations, do you want to own a home, do you want to have a savings account...that is all determined by you and how you choose to spend. People live and survive on "lesser" jobs every day.

don't go in to EMS to get rich....do it because you want to help people and you will be fine. Depends on where in the country you work and what type of entity you work for. I am a vollie so I work for free....love every second of it!!

AK is right...if it weren't liveable, no one would do it. HOWEVER, you can't get in to this career for the money. You get in to it because you have the desire to make a difference. That's what will get you through the long shifts and sleepless nights. And, if you are in it for the right reasons...none of that makes any difference.