new paramedic - question on breathing treatments

matt c

hey guys, im a fairly new paramedic (about 5 months) and unfortunately i work at a private service right now. we do a lot of bls intercepts and nursing home emergencies. my question is this. i know you use albuterol in asthma, but are duonebs also indicated in people who have PNA with SOB? i also have heard many contradicting theories on whether or not to give a treatment for people with SOB from chf, supposedly a treatment can just worsen their fluid problem. well anyways any insight in this subject would be appreciated! thank you guys! ( and girls )

Hey Matt, welcome to the City!

Usually, if your pt. is having difficulty breathing enough to call 911 and has a hx of Asthma, I'll bypass the Albuterol and go directly to a duoneb of Albuterol and Ipatropium along with 125mg Solumedrol IV, depending of course on my assessment of the pt. But, Asthmatics know they have Asthma and are very aware of an onset of an attack. In most cases they have already used their meter dose inhaler w/o relief, that's why they called us. It doesn't make sense to give them more of something that isn't working.

With CHF pt.'s, I will avoid Albuterol like the plaque. You're correct in your assumption that they will get worse. The patient is basically drowning. What we need to do is get rid of the fluid somehow, not add to it. Pt.'s with CHF having a true respiratory distress crisis will need CPAP, and nitro for the hypertension, not a nebulized Albuterol treatment.

Sorry for the short response Matt, I have a meeting to go to.

Again, welcome to EMT City!

Take it away Ventmedic!

• Like 1

Take it away Ventmedic!

Thank you for that introduction Jake.