Nitro with a right sided MI

I am an EMT and I have a partner that does a lot of questionable things. I just wanted to ask for some advice and input. We get called to a patient having chest pressure. We get on scene, pt. is ambulatory. Pt. walks to the cot and we load pt. up and start treatment on scene. Pt. was shoveling the driveway when the pressure starts. Pt. describes it as being in the middle of the chest and a little bit of back pain and it is more of a pressure type feeling than pain. Pts. medical history is high cholesterol and a smoker. Pt. is in late 50's and does have a family history of MI. Pt. is also vomiting. My partner can't hit an IV after 3 attempts. I set up the 12-lead and what I see is not "normal" to me. I am just getting ready to start a medic class so I haven't learned how to read a 12-lead yet, but when I printed off the strip it say acute mi at the top. We are 45 minutes out from the nearest hospital and we do have access to a chopper 1 mile down the road. Pts. vitals are 98/P pulse is running 50-55, O2 sat is 94, pt. has some shortness of breath, as well as vomiting, color looks like crap...grayish, and pt. is clammy. My partner gives her a spray of nitro with no IV line established and then we take off. We go non-emergent. We had sent the EKG to the hospital en route....next thing I know, dispatch is telling me to tell my partner to contact the hospital immediately. The hospital precedes to explain to my partner that this pt. is critical, having a right side MI and needs to go straight to the cath lab. It's almost like my partner didn't even know what was going on or how to read the strip. I then get upgraded to emergent. We get to the hospital and the doctor's are pissed! Pt. goes staright to the cath lab and my partner gets to have a little talk with the supervisor. My partner says that he is "sick" and that is part of the reason he made poor decisions. What are your thoughts?

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply