Pre-Med Student getting EMT-B?

Jonnyb504

Hey I am currently a Pre-Med student looking for some experience in the medical field. I would volunteer, but I need something that pays also. Anyone have any comments on whether it is a good idea or not? Also with just an EMT-B certification am I likely to get a job? Im in the New Orleans are. I also plan on taking this course during my next semester of school, is the course demanding of a lot of time?

If you're used to academics, most EMT programs will be a piece of cake. I went to one that was probably easier than most and I probably studied twice the whole class and that was right before class started.

This summer there were several premeds who worked at our company just for the summer to get patient contact experience. They plan on doing it winter and summer breaks. There's also a number of people who have graduated school and are studying for MCATS (if you work a slow area you get patient contacts, access to doctors at ERs, and downtime to study while getting paid...seems like a good deal). My EMT class had two high school pre-meds too.

I don't, though, know as many premeds who work during the school year, though I do know a number of them...they often end up working non-emergency transfer cars because they offer better schedules.

Getting your EMT while in college is great for your personal experience (though is doesn't help promote EMS as a profession, but we'll put that to the side for now). Which ever way you go, you will get hands on experience which will make you more comfortable when you have to deal with pts in medical school. It will also help you feel more comfortable when you have to do pt simulations in medical school because you will already have the experience of performing in front of someone who is assessing you.